Sign in
Loading

Help forum Feed Feed

Help forum > Google Places for business > Optimize your Place page > Someone keeps making changes to my client's Google listing, how do I find out who that is? Who can manage the listing

Someone keeps making changes to my client's Google listing, how do I find out who that is? Who can manage the listing Report abuse

lilbiggy24
Level 1
2/3/12
Google Places Link:
http://maps.google.com/maps/place?q=AA+Farrell+Agencies+Ltd,+Broadway+Street+West,+Yorkton,+SK,+Canada&hl=en&cid=8602398028344164287

I see in the edit history for this listing someone making changes to the listing that the company owner has not approved. How do I find out who is making these changes to the listing. And how do I find out who is attached to the account?

Also, I have requested that the name of the business be changed from AA Farrell Agencies to just Farrell Agencies....we are not sure how the AA got in front of the business name. And it was changed 2 weeks ago, but is now back again in the business name.

When I am in the account of the business owner, I go to his 'Google Places' - and a listing comes up that is correct....there is no AA in front of the name.

I am so confused by all of this. How are Google Maps and Places related? Are they 2 separate listings that I have to keep track of? or if I make a change to one of them, the other is updated as well.

This is actually the 3rd time I am complaining and asking about this listing. I have logged in under myself with these complaints/questions, hoping to have more luck. I have already posted a complaint/report a problem using the business owners account.

Farrell Agencies
wrongly listed as AA Farrell Agencies
41 West Broadway Street
Yorkton, Saskatchewan
Insurance Agency
www.farrellagencies.com


Thank you for your help/guidance!

Replies 1 - 3 of 3

SQLPerformance
Level 5
2/3/12
Any one can make Edits via the listing or in mapmaker if in your country.
The moderators are volunteers and they tend to approve changes without even getting back if you provide an email link.  I put a message in the edit now to say I am doing changes on behalf of the client. One moderator kindly sent me some guidelines as I had not appreciated one of the rules.
1 of 1 people found this answer helpful. Did you? Sign in to vote. Report abuse
hutpointe
Level 1
2/4/12
I believe that you can change your settings within your google account to disallow multiple people to access your account.  You will have to log into the main account associated with your business and disable the tab that allows more than one user.  This is what I would do...I hope this helps.
Did you find this answer helpful? Sign in to vote. Report abuse
SQLPerformance
Level 5
2/4/12
When you say account do you mean a gmail account or a places account?
Both are password protected.
I am not aware in a Places account that you can make such a setting.  Can you provide a link to what you mean?
It is possible by a multiple claim for more than one person to be able to edit a Places entry but both need to PIN verify, a common issues is a previous employee managing a Place entry leaves and a second claim has to be made.  The original account can still be used and if its a gmail account fields in there can persist as a source to the search listing result.  Google via the Help articles can disable old gmail accounts.
Did you find this answer helpful? Sign in to vote. Report abuse

Post reply

Sign in to answer this question.

Subscribe

Go to: